Affordable Online Counselling & Supervision
| Half Price Web Hosting & Cheaper Domain Names

Crystals & Gems - Quartz, Amethyst, Chakra and Aura Crystals

What is a Crystal? | Crystal Gemstone Properties | Gemstone Remedies
Chakras |
Cleansing, Energising and Programming Crystals | Zodiac Crystals
| Tell a Friend About This Site | Search

First & Last Name Origins | Astrology Reports |



chakra colours

What are Chakras? | What do the Chakras do? | The 7 Chakras
Working with the Chakras

What are Chakras?

The Chakras are spinning 'wheels' of energy located in the body from the Crown to the Base as shown in the diagram below.  These are the 7 main Chakras, but other minor Chakras exist in the body, including the palm of the hands.  Chakras help to maintain your physical, mental, emotional and spiritual balance. Associated crystal gems, colours and scents are often used in Chakra Healing. 

When using crystals with the Chakras, it is normal to lie on your back and place the appropriate crystal on the Chakra points shown in the diagram below. You will see that several different crystals are listed for each Chakra, and some crystals may also be used for different Chakras.  For example, an Amethyst is a good c hoice for the Crown Chakra because of its violet colour, but the same crystal can also be used for the Third Eye because of the spiritual properties of Amethyst. 

Chakra crystal kits are available (via our Web Store) complete with the appropriate gemstones.  These also include details and a guide explaining how to work effectively on the various Chakras.  Further details can be found below that explain how to work with the Chakras.

Many good books are available covering the Chakras in greater detail. Please see our book section for more information on this fascinating subject.  


What do the Chakras do?

Base Chakra (1st)

This Chakra is responsible for grounding and is said to be an energiser to the physical body.

Sacral Chakra (2nd)

This is said to be helpful when relating to people, and also for sexual energy and eating disorders.

Solar Plexus Chakra (3rd)

Said to help clear thought and for establishing your Power Centre.

Heart Chakra (4th)

Responsible for both giving and receiving universal and unconditional love.  Also for feelings of self-worth.

Throat Chakra (5th)

This is the communication Chakra and is said to encourage the ability to express oneself in an honest and clear way.

Third Eye Chakra (6th)

The centre of intuition and psychic abilities.

Crown Chakra (7th)

This Chakra is associated with opening up to infinate energies and developing a link to your own higher self and mind. 


The 7 Chakras

The 7 Chakras - 7-Crown, 6-Third Eye, 5-Throat, 4-Heart, 3-Solar Plexus, 2-Sacral or Spleen, 1-Root or Base
7th (Crown) 
Violet, White, Gold
Crystals: Amethyst, Purple Fluorite, Clear Quartz, Diamond 
Scent: Lavender, Frankincense 
Element: Spirit 
Sense: ESP 
6th (Third Eye) 
Indigo, Violet
Crystals: Lapis Lazuli, Sodalite, Sapphire, Amethyst, Fluorite, Clear Quartz 
Scent: Juniper, Rosemary 
Element: Electrical 
Sense: Sight 
5th (Throat) 
Crystals: Turquoise, Blue Topaz, Sodalite, Lapis Lazuli, Aquamarine, Celestine 
Scent: Chamomile, Eucalyptus 
Element: Spirit & Air 
Sense: Sound 
4th (Heart) 
Crystals: Green and Pink Tourmaline, Green Jade, Green Aventurine, Emerald, Rose Quartz 
Scent: Rose, Ylang Ylang 
Element: Air 
Sense: Smell 
3rd (Solar Plexus) 
Crystals: Amber, Tiger's Eye, Yellow Citrine, Yellow Calcite, Gold 
Scent: Chamomile, Eucalyptus 
Element: Fire 
Sense: Taste 
2nd (Sacral/Spleen) 
Crystals: Carnelian, Golden Topaz, Citrine, Amber, Gold Calcite 
Scent: Jasmine, Sandalwood 
Element: Water 
Sense: Taste 
1st (Root/Base) 
(or Black/Grounding crystals/colours)
Crystals: Garnet, Ruby, Red Jasper, Bloodstone, Smoky Quartz, Hematite, Obsidian 
Scent: Patchouli, Geranium 
Element: Earth 
Sense: Touch 


Working with the Chakras

We have included below some information on how to work with the Chakras.  Chakra books are available that will provide more detailed information and further ideas. Books and Chakra Sets are available from our Web Store.

When using crystals with the Chakras, you will need to lie on your back and place the appropriate crystal on the Chakra points shown in the diagram above. You should choose a time and place where you will not be disturbed and will be allowed to completely relax and meditate for about 15-20 minutes . You might want to listen to some meditation or relaxation music during this process. Various meditation music can be found in our Web Store.

When you start the exercise and once you've placed the crystal gems on the appropriate places on your body, make sure you are comfortable and close your eyes. Spend a few minutes performing some deep, controlled breathing exercises. Breath in slowly and deeply, hold for a few seconds and then slowly breath out. Do this for several minutes.  While doing so, clear and calm your mind and imagine that each time you breath out you are releasing all stress, worries and negative energies within you. Spend as long as you need to relax and clear your mind, but 5 minutes should be long enough. While doing this, imagine yourself being surrounded by a pure, bright white, loving light.  This is your protective energy which will remain surrounded around your body during the exercise.

Now, starting from the 1st (Root/Base) Chakra, start to focus and concentrate on the stone and its associated Chakra colour (red) and imagine that area being bathed in a pure, clean, strong red colour.  Imagine this as a small vortex of red spinning energy, swirling from and around the stone and within you. See and feel the beneficial energy from within the gemstone being absorbed by the body. Spend around 30-60 seconds concentrating and visualising this red colour energy. Now move onto the next stone and Chakra point (Sacral/Spleen) and repeat the same process with its associated colour. Complete this process in turn with each stone and Chakra point, always starting the exercise from the 1st Chakra moving upwards to the 7th (Crown) Chakra.

Once you have completed the exercise with the final (7th) Chakra, briefly imagine each Chakra, in turn, from the 1st to 7th Chakra, along with its associated colour, and imagine the coloured energy being absorbed into the body until gone.  Understand that this will close down each of the Chakras so they can return back to their normal functional state. Once you have completed closing down each of the Chakras, take a few deep breaths, move your fingers and toes, open your eyes and gently stretch. You have now completed your Chakra meditation.

Remember to cleanse and charge your Chakra crystals regularly for the best results.


Half Price Web Hosting & Cheaper Domain Names

Affordable Online Counselling & Supervision


Domain registered by
Life matters from 2005